Angebote zu "Catherine" (7 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

From My Old Kentucky Home to the White House
38,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From My Old Kentucky Home to the White House ab 38.49 € als Taschenbuch: The Political Journey of Catherine Conner. Aus dem Bereich: Bücher, Taschenbücher, Wirtschaft & Soziales,

Anbieter: hugendubel
Stand: 07.04.2020
Zum Angebot
From My Old Kentucky Home To T
137,00 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Catherine Conner was weaned on toddies of bourbon and milk her father brought to her before breakfast every morning. Though she enjoyed privilege, she also witnessed the harsh side of rural life. Those experiences markedly shaped the personality of a woman who would become the youngest National Democratic Committeewoman and would subsequently enter FDR's inner circle. Conner began her political career in Bardstown, heading the successful effort to have 'My Old Kentucky Home' made into a state park before working as a lobbyist. She acted as an assistant to Harry Hopkins for five years and befriended many of the shapers of the American century, including Sam Rayburn, Jim Farley, and A.B. 'Happy' Chandler. From My Old Kentucky Home to the White House is the forthright memoir of a determined woman who led a remarkable life in the highest circles of power.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 07.04.2020
Zum Angebot
Developer Trays
33,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Developer Trays is master photography printer John Cyr's tribute to the craft and art he has spent his career perfecting. As sure as the age of silver has come to an end, there remain few but extraordinary and dedicated darkroom practitioners such as Cyr who continue to work with chemistry and processes more or less unchanged since the early days of the medium. With an unrivaled passion for the darkroom and all its accouterments Cyr set out to document the actual developer trays of many of the world's most renowned photographers. Cyr celebrates in stunning large-format color photographs the intimate materiality of the developer tray itself and the ephemeral presence of the artist within it. This revelatory work showcases the ubiquitous developer tray as an essential vehicle of analog photography that defies modern digital photographic advances: its material nature and functionality will not become obsolete. Developer Trays presents its viewer with a rare glimpse into the darkroom experiences of many of the world's leading photographers. Each tray's physical appearance is a direct reflection of its treatment: the years of usage, the maintenance of it, the chemicals in the developer, and the level of print agitation. Every accumulated tong mark, silver deposit, and chemical stain seen in these photographs is the result of the artist's handling and a signature bearing the imprint of its artist. Trays from many of the giants of photography, including: Ansel Adams, Eddie Adams, Tom Baril, Lillian Bassman, Edna Bullock, Wynn Bullock, Bill Burke, Ellen Carey, Mark Cohen, Lois Conner, Linda Connor, John Coplans, Valdir Cruz, John Cyr, Bruce Davidson, John Draper, Elliott Erwitt, Dan Estabrook, Andreas Feininger, Larry Fink, Abe Frajndlich, Leonard Freed, Adam Fuss, The George Eastman House, Ralph Gibson, John Goodman, Emmet Gowin, David Graham, Ed Grazda, Stanley Greenberg, Ted Hendrickson, Lizzie Himmel, Paul Himmel, Henry Horenstein, Sid Kaplan, Chuck Kelton, Michael Kenna, John George Kingsley, Builder Levy, O. Winston Link, Vera Lutter, Alen MacWeeney, Sally Mann, Edward Mapplethorpe, Chris McCaw, Amanda Means, Jim Megargee, Barbara Mensch, Richard Misrach, Andrea Modica, Abelardo Morell, The National Press Photographers Association, Arnold Newman, Olivia Parker, Philip Perkis, The Photo Studio of the American Museum of Natural History, The Photo Studio of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Photographic History Collection at the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History, Sylvia Plachy, Eugene Richards, Stuart Rome, Ken Rosenthal, Alison Rossiter, Gary Schneider, Mark Seliger, Neil Selkirk, John Sexton, Mark Sink, Aaron Siskind, Joni Sternbach, Helen M. Stummer, George Tice, Eileen Travell, Jerry Uelsmann, Catherine Wagner, Harvey Wang, Hiroshi Watanabe, Kim Weston, Minor White, and Joel-Peter Witkin.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 07.04.2020
Zum Angebot
The Soldier's Woman
5,00 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Alexandra Conner writes a heart-rending saga of family strife, dreams abandoned and love triumphant, in The Soldier's Woman. Perfect for fans of Rita Bradshaw and Catherine Cookson. When Faith Granger's husband Samuel comes back from the First World War he is a changed man. Although still loving to his wife and daughter, Samuel struggles to settle down to normal, civilian life, and Faith seems unable to reignite their old passion. Then Leonie Bonnard, a shy young Frenchwoman, arrives. She tells Faith she is a war widow looking for a room to rent for herself and her young child, and Faith takes her in, but when Samuel comes face to face with the 'lodger' he realises that his past has caught up with him: he is the father of her child. Leonie threatens to tell Faith everything, and insists that Samuel leave his family for her. How will Faith react when she realises her life has been ruined by a trusted interloper? 'Love Alexandra Connor books. Totally involving characters, believable plots, always with surprising twists. Excellent!' 'What a wonderful story. I couldn't put the book down' 'This is the first time I have read a book by this author, and I have to say, Alexandra Connor is an author I will come back to. A very good book to read, you will not want to put it down, a storyline on the move that keeps you wanting more'

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 07.04.2020
Zum Angebot
Developer Trays
38,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Developer Trays is master photography printer John Cyr's tribute to the craft and art he has spent his career perfecting. As sure as the age of silver has come to an end, there remain few but extraordinary and dedicated darkroom practitioners such as Cyr who continue to work with chemistry and processes more or less unchanged since the early days of the medium. With an unrivaled passion for the darkroom and all its accouterments Cyr set out to document the actual developer trays of many of the world's most renowned photographers. Cyr celebrates in stunning large-format color photographs the intimate materiality of the developer tray itself and the ephemeral presence of the artist within it. This revelatory work showcases the ubiquitous developer tray as an essential vehicle of analog photography that defies modern digital photographic advances: its material nature and functionality will not become obsolete. Developer Trays presents its viewer with a rare glimpse into the darkroom experiences of many of the world's leading photographers. Each tray's physical appearance is a direct reflection of its treatment: the years of usage, the maintenance of it, the chemicals in the developer, and the level of print agitation. Every accumulated tong mark, silver deposit, and chemical stain seen in these photographs is the result of the artist's handling and a signature bearing the imprint of its artist. Trays from many of the giants of photography, including: Ansel Adams, Eddie Adams, Tom Baril, Lillian Bassman, Edna Bullock, Wynn Bullock, Bill Burke, Ellen Carey, Mark Cohen, Lois Conner, Linda Connor, John Coplans, Valdir Cruz, John Cyr, Bruce Davidson, John Draper, Elliott Erwitt, Dan Estabrook, Andreas Feininger, Larry Fink, Abe Frajndlich, Leonard Freed, Adam Fuss, The George Eastman House, Ralph Gibson, John Goodman, Emmet Gowin, David Graham, Ed Grazda, Stanley Greenberg, Ted Hendrickson, Lizzie Himmel, Paul Himmel, Henry Horenstein, Sid Kaplan, Chuck Kelton, Michael Kenna, John George Kingsley, Builder Levy, O. Winston Link, Vera Lutter, Alen MacWeeney, Sally Mann, Edward Mapplethorpe, Chris McCaw, Amanda Means, Jim Megargee, Barbara Mensch, Richard Misrach, Andrea Modica, Abelardo Morell, The National Press Photographers Association, Arnold Newman, Olivia Parker, Philip Perkis, The Photo Studio of the American Museum of Natural History, The Photo Studio of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Photographic History Collection at the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History, Sylvia Plachy, Eugene Richards, Stuart Rome, Ken Rosenthal, Alison Rossiter, Gary Schneider, Mark Seliger, Neil Selkirk, John Sexton, Mark Sink, Aaron Siskind, Joni Sternbach, Helen M. Stummer, George Tice, Eileen Travell, Jerry Uelsmann, Catherine Wagner, Harvey Wang, Hiroshi Watanabe, Kim Weston, Minor White, and Joel-Peter Witkin.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 07.04.2020
Zum Angebot
The Soldier's Woman
4,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Alexandra Conner writes a heart-rending saga of family strife, dreams abandoned and love triumphant, in The Soldier's Woman. Perfect for fans of Rita Bradshaw and Catherine Cookson. When Faith Granger's husband Samuel comes back from the First World War he is a changed man. Although still loving to his wife and daughter, Samuel struggles to settle down to normal, civilian life, and Faith seems unable to reignite their old passion. Then Leonie Bonnard, a shy young Frenchwoman, arrives. She tells Faith she is a war widow looking for a room to rent for herself and her young child, and Faith takes her in, but when Samuel comes face to face with the 'lodger' he realises that his past has caught up with him: he is the father of her child. Leonie threatens to tell Faith everything, and insists that Samuel leave his family for her. How will Faith react when she realises her life has been ruined by a trusted interloper? 'Love Alexandra Connor books. Totally involving characters, believable plots, always with surprising twists. Excellent!' 'What a wonderful story. I couldn't put the book down' 'This is the first time I have read a book by this author, and I have to say, Alexandra Connor is an author I will come back to. A very good book to read, you will not want to put it down, a storyline on the move that keeps you wanting more'

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 07.04.2020
Zum Angebot